How to set up Bungeecord with shared hosting

Discussion in 'BungeeCord' started by Mikgreg, May 16, 2013.

1. [The content of this topic was taken from the BeastNode knowledge base and was written by a contributing customer]

I have since abandoned this topic - I am no longer providing support and the contents may be out-of-date. Don't take this as reliable information.

The way Bungee Cord works is that you have a backend server that run Bungee Cord and nothing else.
    You can choose to have a hub server with all the server portals in or you can just have portals in every server.
    Minimum amount of normal servers that users can play on should be two. You can then have as many more as you like.

Once you have your servers ready, now it's time to get Bungee Cord. You can get it here: http://www.spigotmc.org/threads/bungeecord.392/
    Upload BungeeCord.jar to /RootDirectory/jar/
    Change your jar file in Multicraft to BungeeCord.jar.
    Run your server, it will say it is listening on 0.0.0.0:25565. It will not work like this.
    It will generate a config.yml in your root directory. Open that up and you will get this: http://pastebin.com/DisGpevy

You can change max_players to anything you want.
    The host must be the backend server IP which will not be running as a Minecraft server (i.e. the IP : Port that will be used to connect to the hub so it should be the IP: Port of the server you have it installed on).
    Ignore force_default_server.
    Change the MOTD to whatever you like.

Go to the servers section, here you will input the name of your servers and their IP:port.
    We will use the default as an example. If I wanted my hub server to be part of it, I'd change the 'lobby' to 'hub' and put the IP address in.
    When you have done this, add that server to forced_hosts. To add the hub to it, I'd do : hub.
    Just repeat this for each server until you've added them all.