Solved [1.12.2-R0.1-SNAPSHOT] Problem with ConfigurationSection#getConfigurationSection

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by JacobTDC, Jun 11, 2018.

1. Whenever I try to use ConfigurationSection#getConfigurationSection on a private variable, it throws an error, and I have no clue why it is happening. IntelliJ finds no problems with the code, and neither can I. Does anybody know how to fix this?

Also, any optimizations and pointers would be GREATLY appreciated, as I'm still new to Java...
    (I would code a server from scratch in JavaScript, but the protocol is just too complicated...)

I have shortened the code to the part where the error happens.
    Code (Java):

public class TNTLabsBossBars implements org.bukkit.event.Listener {
        private static Server server = Bukkit.getServer();
        private static Plugin plugin = server.getPluginManager().getPlugin("TNTLabs");
        private static FileConfiguration config = plugin.getConfig();
        private static ConfigurationSection bossBarsConfig = config.getConfigurationSection("boss-bars");

private Map<String,BossBar> BossBars = new HashMap<String,BossBar>();
        private Map<String,Set<String>> BossBarsWorlds;
        private Map<String,List<Map<String,String>>> BossBarSettings;

public TNTLabsBossBars() {
            server.getPluginManager().registerEvents(this, plugin);
            initializeBossBars();
        }

public void initializeBossBars () {
            // Remove all players from BossBars
            for (BossBar bossBar : BossBars.values()) {
                bossBar.removeAll();
            }

// Reset all BossBar settings
            BossBars = new HashMap<>();
            BossBarsWorlds = new HashMap<>();
            BossBarSettings = new HashMap<>();

// Perform action for every BossBar setting
            for (String name : bossBarsConfig.getKeys(false)) {
                Bukkit.getLogger().info(name);

// Load and set this BossBar's settings