Solved 1.16.5 Time based command (ex: you have 10 seconds to /confirm or /deny)

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by LetsGoRidePandas, Jun 10, 2021.

1. Hi everyone, this is my first time here, so hopefully I formatted everything properly. What I'm looking for is at least a push in the right direction or suggestions on how to do this. So here's what I'm trying to do.

I'm making a simple town plugin and I'm almost finished. All I need is to make the commands to invite and accept/deny the invitation (so /mayor invite [player] and /towninvite accept|deny). I want to make it so /towninvite only works for the invited player and only works for a specified amount of time like 5 minutes.

I'ved look into hashmaps and they seem like they might work (kind of like a reverse cooldown) but I'm not sure the best way to implement that for this situation

I've also looked at persistantdatacontainers and that seems like it would work too but it seems like I can't set an expiration on that.

Does anyone know how other town plugins do this or at least have any ideas on how to go about this?

2. Strahan

Benefactor

You'd want to store a timestamp when the invite was issued, then when you accept it check if stored timestamp >= duration and if so, bounce it as expired. If not, process it.

3. I kinda figured it would be like that. I'm just not sure how to attach that timestamp to the player and then delete it once it expires

4. runTaskLater maybe can help you