Access VPS As Remote Desktop

Discussion in 'Systems Administration' started by Leniency, Jul 14, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I have a VPS running Ubuntu 14.04.4 LTS (GNU/Linux 3.13.0-79-generic x86_64). Currently, the only way I can access it is through PuTTY. I was wondering if it was possible to connect to it as a desktop, and if it is, how would I do it?

2. Huh? If it's Ubuntu server, it doesn't have a desktop and is just the CLI.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  3. You would have to install a gui fpr your server then install xrdp and you can connect thorugh windows remote desktop to your linux server and use the desktop environment to control your server. Still don;t understand why you can;t just use ssh though

4. Thanks for telling me this! I'm new to the whole VPS stuff.

5. I am trying to install skype onto my VPS so that I can use a plugin which can use the java skype api.

6. okay hmm

7. Whatever this Java Skype API is, use it directly. You cannot install Skype on Ubuntu server. As Sweepyoface said, all you have is a CLI. Don't be intimidated by this though, it's a great opportunity to learn more about the power of the command line. But you definitely don't need to install Skype to use this plugin, you just need to get this Java Skype API into your classpath.

8. https://github.com/taksan/skype-java-api
    http://o7planning.org/en/10153/skype-java-api-tutorial

9. MiniDigger

Supporter

sadly thats how the skype api works, it can't make connections to skypes servers, it can only control the client. thats why you need to have the client installed.

edit: found this guide on how to run the client on ubuntu server http://sevabot-skype-bot.readthedocs.io/en/latest/ubuntu.html

• Useful Useful x 1
  10. Wow that is pretty sad ahah. I guess Skype was never meant to be used for this kind of thing, to be fair. Good on you for finding a guide, though.

11. MiniDigger

Supporter