Solved Accessing Config File inside a GUI

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by aws404, Mar 8, 2018.

1. Hi, I would like to start by saying I am quite new to Java so there might be an obvious mistake I am making but that's why i'm here, for help!
    So I am trying to make a GUI that takes values from a config file in place of the name, lore and other values, I continue to get a null pointer exception during the enable of the plugin and wondered if anyone could tell me what i'm doing wrong. It only occurs when I try to access the Config file and works fine if i just use normal values.

Inventory Class:
    Code (Text):
    package aws404.capitalskyblock.challenges;

import java.util.Arrays;

import org.bukkit.Bukkit;
    import org.bukkit.ChatColor;
    import org.bukkit.Material;
    import org.bukkit.entity.Player;
    import org.bukkit.event.EventHandler;
    import org.bukkit.event.Listener;
    import org.bukkit.event.inventory.InventoryClickEvent;
    import org.bukkit.inventory.ItemStack;
    import org.bukkit.inventory.meta.ItemMeta;

public class Inventory implements Listener {
        private Main plugin;
        public Inventory(Main plugin) {
            this.plugin = plugin;

public static void createButton(int Slot, String name, org.bukkit.inventory.Inventory inv) {
            ItemStack item = new ItemStack(Material.STICK);
            ItemMeta meta = item.getItemMeta();
            meta.setDisplayName(ChatColor.GOLD + "" + ChatColor.BOLD + FileManager.config.getString("challenges." + name + ".display"));
            meta.setLore(Arrays.asList(ChatColor.WHITE + FileManager.config.getString("challenges." + name + ".desc") ,ChatColor.GRAY +  "test", "", ChatColor.GOLD + "Rewards:",ChatColor.GRAY + FileManager.config.getString("challenges." + name + ".rewards")));
            inv.setItem(Slot, item);
    //Main Menu