Auto update script for BungeeCord in tmux

Discussion in 'Server & Community Management' started by Datatags, May 7, 2017.

1. I made a shell script to auto update the spigot servers and BungeeCord, all managed by tmux. I hope it helps somebody. Modified this to a more general setup than mine, so not 100% sure that it works perfectly. It should though. I added some variables at the top that you will need to set. I'm also new to shell scripting, so it probably isn't that great. Hope it works for you! :D

Code (Bash):
    #!/bin/bash
    # Build new server jar, download BungeeCord jar, display a warning message, shut down network, copy new jars to the appropriate folders, bring network back online.

$minecraftdir="~/Documents/MCserver" # Directory containing spigot servers
    $buildtoolsdir="~/Downloads/BuildTools/" # Directory where your BuildTools is
    $bungeecorddir="~/Documents/MCserver/BungeeCord/" # Directory where your BungeeCord jar is located
    echo Building Spigot, please wait...
    cd $buildtoolsdir
    java -jar BuildTools.jar --rev 1.11.2 # Build spigot jar
    cd $bungeecorddir # Go to the BungeeCord dir to download new
    echo Downloading BungeeCord...
    wget -O BungeeCord-fresh.jar https://ci.md-5.net/job/BungeeCord/lastSuccessfulBuild/artifact/bootstrap/target/BungeeCord.jar # Download latest BungeeCord build
    cd $minecraftdir # Go to minecraft directory
    echo Making announcements.  The update will begin in 5 minutes.
    tmux select-window -t 0 # Make sure the BungeeCord window is selected.  If your BungeeCord window isn't 0, fix it here.  Also be sure to fix it near the end of the script when it starts BungeeCord again.
    tmux send-keys 'alert This is an automated message:  Server shutting down for update in 5 minutes.  The update will take about 2 minutes.' Enter # Broadcast shutdown notice
    sleep 240 # Wait
    echo T minus 1 minute