Becoming OP

Discussion in 'Spigot Help' started by SpoonBoyCat, Jan 26, 2020.

1. I created an at-home spigot server so that I can use voxelsniper to build stuff. The server is running fine, but I can't use commands because I'm not an OP. I've tried editing the ops.json file, but it doesn't seem to work. I don't know how to open the console, and typing the command in chat doesn't work. I'm on version 1.15.1, with no plugins installed yet.
    I apologize in advance for not knowing what I'm doing, I'm very new to this sorta thing and I have zero experience in the java language.

2. SteelPhoenix

If you can't manage to get it working by editing the ops file, you can also op players through console (/op). Also, it is recommended to use a permissions plugin and sort out the perms instead of relying on op.

3. I don't know how to open the console, I've tried a few different things but nothing seems to work.
    What kind of permissions plugins are there? I've never heard of those kinds of things.

4. How are you starting the server? If you are running a start.bat or start.sh script to run the server, a black or white console should appear that has a lot of text. After the server has fully loaded you should be able to type

op <your name>

5. I'm starting the server by going to 'direct access' with the ip 'localhost'. there doesn't seem to e a 'start.bat' or 'start.sh' file in the folder.

Attached Files:

6. When you click the run file to start the server, what pops up?

Also, contact me on Discord, I can help you resolve the issue more quickly.
    Yooogle#0575

7. (I assume you mean run.bat) The console starts up for a split second before closing itself

8. This may mean the run.bat has wrong arguments as it isn't loading.
    Right click Run.bat and click "Edit". Then send us what's inside there.
    While at it, make sure you have installed
    - Java