Best Decompiler?

Discussion in 'Spigot Discussion' started by Adamt605, May 18, 2017.

1. What is the best Decompiler for 2017.

2. Mas

Mas

Krakatau and Procyon are good, though I'm no expert in this topic.

3. I do not decompile, but a few months ago I only used JDGui xd

4. I was going to try that how is it?

5. Mas

Mas

Jd-gui is known to be one of the worst decompilers out there ;P

#6 Mas, May 19, 2017
    Last edited: May 22, 2017
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  6. MiniDigger

Supporter

fernflower, developed by jetbrains as part of their intellij idea is good. its integrated in the ide so its easy to look at nms code for example.
    for standalone stuff, I use luyten (https://github.com/deathmarine/Luyten) which is a gui for procyon, just like jd-gui is for jd.
    I really wouln't recommend jd, its extremely outdated.

• Agree Agree x 2
  7. Why all of them are read only 0.0
    You already have to source code, what is the problem to recompile...

8. MiniDigger

Supporter

because its not as easy as that, lol.
    first of all: decompilers not always produce valid java code. they could have a bug, a missing feature or the input bytecode was obfuscated which may lead to ambiguous method names.
    then, even if you had valid java source, you would still not be able to compile it. you are missing the dependencies. how should your decompiler know that you need bukkit to recompile? or even worse, 3rd party plugins, like worldedit. you can't compile if you have missing dependencies.

so yeah, it will not work.

9. Dependencies that get exported with the jar is easy to add, all of the other are "provided", you are telling me there is NO WAY to tell the compilter to ignore dependencies?

10. MiniDigger

Supporter

yes, there is nothing the decompiler would need to do to recompile it if everything is in the jar