Best Host For My Use?

Discussion in 'Hosting Advice' started by iTzSocrates, Aug 11, 2019.

1. So I apologize if this is not the appropriate place to post for my small needs but I am new to all of this and my Google fu is not working when there is so much information.

Me and my brother have been playing on a Realm, we realized that the cost probably isn't worth it and we were interested in running mods however and Realms doesn't allow for that.

I am a System/Network Administrator for my day job, I spun up a Digital Ocean VPS and installed and connected to it but that was the extent. I did put in for a free sever from ServerMiner to test out there environment the control panel interested me which seems like they just modified an open source one but still.

Anyways to get to the point it will be me and my brother consistently using it with a few of my children and relatives every so often. We are not opposed to people joining up but we don't really want or need a super high player count 10+ should be fine. I do have hardware I could run from my house but I don't really want to do that I would prefer just to pay up to $10 a month hopefully that is enough for our needs?

Any insights or if I am missing something major I would appreciate any help!

2. Hi there! Thanks for trying out a free server trial. We actually created our control panel completely in-house. Generally speaking, you should be looking for a server with a minimum of 3GB RAM although this would really depend on what modpack you're looking to run. Feel free to get in touch [email protected] and we'd be happy to get 3GB of RAM allocated to your free trial so you can do some modpack testing. Only problem is the 3GB RAM package with us is a bit out of the $10 budget but it could be a good test to see how much RAM you'd need for the modpack to run correctly.
    ~ James D

• Funny Funny x 1
  3. Even aternos is better than serverminer lmao