Solved Breaking block for a first time

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Help' started by KindGuy, Mar 4, 2020.

1. Hey , im new on this forum so Hello Community ^^

I'm also new in developing minecraft plugins( started 1 day ago ) and i'm working on kind of jobs plugin. What i would like to do here is for example " Lumberjack" and he of course can gather wood. Problem is that i want allow only them to chop trees. I already get no drop if u dont have Lumberjack permission but i don't know how to allow other users place and gather log which was gathered by Lumberjack ( for example in building ) . I was thinking about adding lore but i read somewhere that placed block doesn't store ItemMeta :/
    Thank you in advance for your help :)

#1 KindGuy, Mar 4, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2020
  2. You could have a List<Location> (or store Blocks if you need to know the material as well) to store all the blocks placed by a lumberjack, then listen to break and place events to add/remove to the list.

3. Let me be more precise. There is a lumberjack who gather some logs . He went to market and sold logs to Miner who can't chop down trees. I want allow him to use the wood which he bought from lumberjack in for example building his own house.

4. Hmm okay, so how exactly are you preventing people who arent lumberjacks from using logs? Because from my understanding, you are listening to a block break event, if they're not a lumberjack and its a log block then cancel the event. Then you are wondering how to allow already gathered blocks from the lumberjack could be broken and placed by other job professions?

If I understand correctly, you can simply listen for blocks placed --> if the block is a log and the player is a lumberjack --> store that location in a list of blocks already harvested by a lumberjack

Then, listening for blocks broken, if the block's location is in that list, don't cancel as it has in fact been harvested by a lumberjack. Sorry if I have misunderstood.