Solved Cannot instantiate a class from class shown as abstract class whilst being normal class

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Nuubles, Jul 18, 2019.

1. As I'm new to storing and handling Java classes like this please spare me if I'm doing something wrong. As a sidenote also the code is still under development so it may have some inconsistencies. So to clear up the structure and why it is like this is as follows:
    TimeLevel: Contains 1-N Requirements and Executors
    Requirement and Executor: Abstract classes which all store the newly created subclasses into a map by calling the register(String key) function.

Main problem: When retrieving the classes from Requirement or Executor and trying to create new instances calling their constructor Java throws InstantiationException as the Requirement and Executor classes are both abstract (as in it stores the class (subclass) in a map as cast to the superclass (Requirement or Executor). How could I create a new instance of a given class stored into a map in superclass using the superclass as the map value?

Here's the code which I use to create a new instance of a class:
    section: ConfigurationSection (correct section is used)
    REQUIREMENTS: String "requirements" -> used as path
    requirementKey: String x to the correct section in config such as level-starter

Code (Java):
    // get the class which will be used in creating a new object
                    Class<? extends Requirement<?>> reqClass = (Class<? extends Requirement<?>>) Requirement.getRequirement(requirementKey);
                    // get the constructor
                    Constructor<? extends Requirement<?>> ctor = reqClass.getConstructor(ConfigurationSection.class, String.class, String.class);

// create a new instance of the given class
                    Requirement<?> req = ctor.newInstance(section, REQUIREMENTS, requirementKey); // ERROR HERE

Here's a part of the requirement superclass which stores the subclasses: