Cheapest computer option

Discussion in 'Technology' started by paradoxldraws, Mar 1, 2018.

1. Currently I'm computerless and jobless -a wonderful combo I know, and I'm wondering how much I will have to scrape up to get a functioning machine. My requests are pretty simple, I'm an artist so I need to be able to be able to plug a wacom intuous into it and draw, and I would like to be able to record and edit speed paints if possible. Maybe play a lil Minecraft every now and then.

I'm really looking for the cheapest option possible, 300> ideal. Can anyone help me out and tell me where and what for I should be looking?
  2. If you are looking for a new computer, ~$300 isn't going to get you very far. You might as well just not even think about games like Minecraft on it. You could look for used ones but that will be a mixed bag. Building your own computer with used parts is probably the best option IMO.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. You could get a decent PC with $400-500 buying used parts, but I don't know about $300, you may be able to get a PC for that price but it may be a bit old
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Where is the best place to find used parts?
  5. Craigslist is pretty good. If you go onto YouTube and type in "Scrapyard wars", you will find a series by LTT where they have to build a PC out of used parts on a very small budget and timescale
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Local classifieds
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Strahan

+1. Craigslist has a decent deals on used hardware in my area. This is almost tempting, I'd probably nab it if I wasn't already financially strapped at the moment.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Well I live in Germany and I don't think craigslist is as widely used, but I think I there's alternative classifieds here. Though if I need to ask questions about the parts I'm buying it'll be a pain in the ass with my limited german.
    Thanks everyone :)