[CLOSED] Creating Mysql tables with custom rows

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by mlgcraftnetwork, May 20, 2016.

1. I started learning how to use Mysql databases today but I'm having trouble. I'm trying to create a table called "coins" with two rows, UUID and coins but I'm having trouble. I spent 3 hours looking on the internet to get this to work but i was not able to get it to work. My code is creating the coins database but the rows are not working and it added the row names as colums. Could anyone show me an example mysql command to create a table with two custom named rows? Thanks!

Code I have now:
    Code (Text):
       public static void createTable() throws SQLException {
       Main.c.createStatement().executeUpdate("CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS coins (UUID varchar(200), coins int);");
       }

2. @mlgcraftnetwork
    • Why is the method static, it likely shouldn't be.
    • UUID is a reserved keyword, so either pick a different column name or wrap it in `backticks`
    • UUIDs will always have 36 characters, not 200... (Also, you should use CHAR because the data has a constant length)

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Also, you don't name rows, you name columns

4. I tried to change the things you suggested but I'm still having trouble. Also, its possible to name your rows right? Pretty sure its possible. Also, the void is static because I was getting errors in my main class and eclipse suggested me to add that and it fixed it (I'm stil learning java so please don't mind my way of coding unless thats what is causing the problem).
    My database:
    [​IMG]
    Example of a db with custom rows:
    [​IMG]
    If you know how I can do this please share a simple code example, I like to learn things myself and I'm not asking you to spoonfeed me everything but a code example would help me understand this much faster. Thanks!