Solved Color code support

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by CreepersGamingMc, Jun 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello, on my plugin, how would I add the ability to add color to the front of the MOTD with bukkit color codes such as &4
    My current code (if you do contribute help, please give an example such as adding it to my code, I am a beginner and am learning) also, if it would be possible to not have a plugin dependency?
    https://pastebin.com/BYFRCiSM

2. ChatColor.translateAlternateColorCodes('char', "text")

3. How would I put this into my current code?

4. If you check the return type and read the function name it should tell you where to put it.

5. Oh, ok!

6. I'm still a bit confused where to put it, there are a LOT of ChatColor.'s

7. Ok, so, you have a function. It returns a String, and it translates alternate color codes. That's literally what the function name is. Ok. It takes 2 inputs. A char, which needs to be '&' in your case since you want to translate '&' to color codes. And a String, which needs to be the text containing your characters that need to be converterted
    So in the end, this function will return your input text, but with the input character replaced with their respective color codes.
    Does that give you an idea where to put it?

8. I'm a beginner, i'm terribly sorry, but I don't

9. Ok, so in your onCommand(), you are sending a message from your config: getConfig().getString("message"), with the nontranslated color codes '&' if I am not mistaken. This needs to be the input String in translateAlternateColorCodes I mentioned before. So what you want to do is replace the getConfig().getString("message") with the String returned from translateAlternateColorCodes.

10. Oh! So the code would be:
    Code (Text):
    ChatColor.translateAlternateColorCodes('&', "message")
    If i'm mistaken please correct me.