Disk Space (Almost) Full already?

Discussion in 'Systems Administration' started by DeanUK, Jun 3, 2014.

1. Hi, I bought a server from sys a few months back, and everything's been great so far. I recently got the Minetrends plugin and one of the features if provides is that is displays info such as current tps and diskspace. To my alarm, I only have 3.1GB remaining and that's decreasing by about 0.1GB each day, so I'll need to get this sorted soon :p

I'm using a 120GB SSD, and I highly doubt one server could fill all that upon. I'm new to Linux and such, so sorry if this is obvious, upon typing "df -h" it shows this:

[​IMG]

That images clearly shows I've got 57GB left on "/dev/sda2" so I'm assuming that the 3.1GB remaining is either from "rootfs" or "/dev/root". Could someone please explain how I can resolve this by giving the correct file system with more space.

I'm probably an idiot and am doing something wrong, but yeah, help would be appreciated! :) Thanks

2. That's not really the point though. There's 57GB free on /dev/sda2, I'm wondering how to allocate it to the filesystem running the server. I delete all old logs, so they aren't taking up a huge amount of space anyway

3. joehot200

Supporter

At least I am not alone in the mistake of putting everything on / (When I used to).

Move everything to /home.

Eh, I mean your Minecraft server. Not everything.

4. vemacs

Artist

Run your server off of /home?

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Google how to partition your harddrive :p

6. Uhh. All my files are already in /home. As of now, the location of my files is as follows:

/home/<user>/Server/<McMyAdmin Files are here>

7. joehot200

Supporter

In that case you are only using 33% and there is no issue.
    Simples!

8. jflory7

jflory7 Retired Moderator
    Retired Benefactor