General Event Handler (no specific event)

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by jankingDE, May 15, 2016.

1. Hey!

I am wondering if there is a kind of EventHandler to listen on all things of stuff.
    For example:

If I want to check if a Player stands on a specific block I use a PlayerMoveEvent. but actually I don't care if the player is moving. I just want to know which block he is standing on.

If I just care about the block, do I than put the checkBlock Code in a Class without event Handler or is there a kind of "spacer" Event Handler?

Best regards and have a nice day!

2. just make a runnable and check all the players locations and what block their standing on.

• Like Like x 1
  3. I think you mean something like

Code (Text):

myPlugin.getServer().getScheduler().scheduleAsyncRepeatingTask(myPlugin, new Runnable() {

public void run() {
    //player checker etc.
    }
    }, 60L, 200L);

I'm really new to Java, sorry.

4. that isnt a runnable

new BukkitRunnable(){
    public void run(){

}
    }. timer type

put that inside a method to call it.

5. Your code is correct, that's indeed a Runnable. Just make sure you're not calling any Bukkit API methods while you're in async. Checking stuff should work just fine in async.

@ProJoosh's method is also correct, but I prefer using the Runnable interface because I can replace it with a lambda..
    Code (Text):

myPlugin.getServer().getScheduler().scheduleAsyncRepeatingTask(myPlugin, () -> {
    // player checker
    }, 60L, 200L);

EDIT: Above methods are deprecated, but they still work fine. Check the JavaDocs for more info.

• Like Like x 1
  6. @FineasGavre are they really deprecated? I thought only when you put a BukkitRunnable it was.

EDIT: Oh I guess the async ones are. I believe you can still use runTaskTimerAsynchronuously inside the scheduler class