HELP WITH MYSQL - Error: Unknown column 'Falcon_Seeker' in 'field list'

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by FalconSeeker, Aug 1, 2018.

1. I'm fairly new to mysql, so I am using an api at the moment while i learn it.
    The error is that
    Code (Text):
    [15:49:13 INFO]: MySQL Update:
    [15:49:13 INFO]: Command: INSERT INTO playerdata (players) VALUES (Falcon_Seeker)
    [15:49:13 INFO]: Error: Unknown column 'Falcon_Seeker' in 'field list'
    Here is my code.
    Code (Text):
            String s = e.getPlayer().getName();
            SQL.insertData("players", s, "playerdata"); //NOT WORKING
            SQL.insertData("online", String.valueOf(Bukkit.getOnlinePlayers().size()), "playerdata"); //-WORKING ONE
    The "online" column works, but players doesnt.
    This is where I create it.
    Code (Text):
                SQL.createTable("playerdata", "players VARCHAR(11), chat INT (11), online INT (11), join_date TIMESTAMP");          

PLZ help. This is where the mysql api is.
    Code (Text):
      public static void insertData(String columns, String values, String table)
      {
        MySQL.update("INSERT INTO " + table + " (" + columns + ") VALUES (" + values + ")");
      }

#1 FalconSeeker, Aug 1, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018
  2. You're trying to use a column called. "falcon_seeker" but that's not a thing.

3. But the other one works and i dont have a column called 1. (# of online players)

4. Strings in SQL always have to be surrounded by quotes. So instead of inserting Falcon_Seeker you should insert 'Falcon_Seeker'

Also look into prepared statements, they are way more secure and easier to use :)
    And dont forget to close any connections and statements you open! They'll easily create massive server-crashing memory leaks (I speak from experience :p)

5. So this would work?
    Code (Text):
            SQL.insertData("players", "'" + s + "'", "playerdata");

6. Yes.