Hey it's me the programming noob again and I need some help with my code!

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Lightcab, May 5, 2015.

1. So, Hey everyone it's me Lightcab. I just started programming this week and I'm totally enjoying it but I'm getting a problem. My program is not running properly. First take a look at my code. So, whenever I run my program it prints "What do you want to do" and then when i type something like add or mul, it does nothing. I didn't get any errors as well. So guys please help this programming newbie.

2. You need to make a loop so once you get past the first question, the application will not exit and wait for the next response.

• Like Like x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  3. Hmmm....Ok let me try. But where should i add the loop and thanks for the reply dude :).
    (EDIT: I used switch case and now it is fine but can you still tell me where am i supposed to add loop)

#3 Lightcab, May 5, 2015
    Last edited: May 5, 2015
  4. between
    10 System.out.println("What do you want to do: ");
    and
    35 }

5. Thanks for the reply dude but can you please explain more. I mean I didn't get it :) and once again thanks for the reply.

6. Heya, good to see you started!

First of all hit CTRL + SHIFT +F every once in a while if you're using eclipse, or CTRL + ALT + L in IntelliJ, it auto cleans up your code, meaning you don't really have to worry about it and your code still looks pleasant!

You can make a scanner loop as follow;
    Code (Text):
    Scanner sca = new Scanner(System.in);

while(sca.hasNext()) {

}