High CPU with not that much players

Discussion in 'Performance Tweaking' started by mussonking, Aug 20, 2013.

1. Hi, I have some questions to ask and to make sure I understand things clearly. I am still a novice with linux and bungeecords and I hope some guys on the forum will be able to point me the right dirrection!

I have a dedicated E3-1240v2 processor with 32gb of ram.
    First of, I want to say that i did a whole system update with the latest java version last night.(1.7.0_25) And for system update i did ''yum update'' (I am on centos 6.3)

Is it normal that Bungeecoord take 50-85% of cpu with 120-140 users online?
    I have bungeesuite installed too. (running the latest bungeecoord dev build)

When a server use 150% cpu, it obviously means it is using more than one core right? So if I have 4 core, 4 minecraft server plus the bungeecoord software, It is possible that One minecraft server cause lag on the other minecraft server right? (I also have mysql for bungeesuite and apache for webpanel, but they dont use more than 0.5% cpu)

I know it have alot of plugin on my faction server, but it often run 80-110% with only 30-40 users on it, I removed some faulty plugin, but I still get very high cpu, Even last night after all the updates, i had a tps of 19 for few seconds, but we were only 6 on the factions server due to my very long shutdown for updates. But even with 6 users i was running over 50-60%.

Also, I dont have alot of plugin in my cops and robbers server, it always run over 80% and peek 200% when maps restart, always 75 users on. My question is, with my kind of processor, how many players should I be able to get on one single server with not alot of plugin, i tough it would be more than 100... I know it will ask way more cpu when more than one maps restart at the same time, but even when now maps are restarrting, its still at 80%+
    Is it normal?

edit: I would also like to know when you use ''top'' on ssh, is it core or thread '%' ??