Higher CPU clock or more cores?

Discussion in 'Performance Tweaking' started by Red_Epicness, Oct 3, 2017.

1. Hello.

I am a developer for an undisclosed server, so for all questions relevant, plugins cannot be taken into account as most are custom.they do interface with a Redis database, as our permanant storage option, do not suggest to change this, please. Redis shouldnt be an issue though, as its pretty damn fast.

So, I was tasked of selecting a good dedicated box for our server, said to bo able to hold up to 700 people on launch. Having never achieved such high player counts on my other projects I am here asking people who have experience with such high loads.

Server is versioned at 1.7.10 (don't ask why, I didn't decide this), with a single BungeeCord, a lobby, and the server where the actual game resides. Lets assume it is plain survival, and only the world/player load from minecraft/spigot itself counts. Lobby has most minecraft features disabled and the map is very limited so that should be less of a strain. Map on the main server is about 10k-10k preloaded with a worldborder so people cannot go futher. Render distance is at 5, other optimizatio s such as chunk gc and others enabled. (The lag optimization guide found on here used). We use paperspigot.
    Not all players of those 700 would be in game, apparently a portion would be in the lobby in a "queue" for the game server.

Here is what my main question is:
    Does a box require higher cpu clock speeds or higher core count to support such loads (a lot of people on few servers)?

Our high CPU clock option:
    https://www.ovh.com/us/dedicated-servers/game/171mc4.xml

Our high core count option:
    https://www.ovh.com/us/dedicated-servers/infrastructure/160eg2.xml - SSD upgrade

If you have a better suggestion for a box I would happily take a look, as long as it is within similar price range of those 2.

And once you know which box is better: