Hoster, VPS or dedicated server?

Discussion in 'Server & Community Management' started by Arjan, Aug 31, 2015.

1. Hello,

Perhaps this question has been asked before, but I need to know what kind of hosting I should pick to fit my needs.
    I want to run a bungeecord server with multiple regular Spigot servers attached. I'm pretty familiar with Linux and I can easily learn how to install things on VPS' and such its just that I'm not experienced with server management.

Any suggestions on what to use can be slightly based on personal preference but I'd rather have some facts about performance, support and uptime.

-Arjan

2. More details please. How many servers are you gonna run, how many plugins/worlds per server, how many players you expect ect.

3. Well, we would like to keep a maximum of 100 players per server while running around 5 plugins and some other custom ones that are lightweight. (The others are pretty heavy). For now we were planning to have a bungeeserver, lobby, world1 and a fallback world. (Not lobby)

4. If you know Linux and have a large enough server, a dedicated server you be a no brainer.

- root access
    - completely unshared resources
    - complete control over how resources are used
    - can run anything off it, not just a Minecraft server but a website, teamspeak server, and if you want an email server

• Like Like x 2
  5. So then thw best thing would be a VPS?

6. What size is your server?

7. Yes, so is it still important to have a lot of ram because the VPS I'm looking at right now is 1gb for $10, but those Minecraft server hosters offer 4gb for $10

8. Yeah, but what size is your server? Like how many players do you peak at? What would you say is your average.

9. Stick with Minecraft Hosting.

• Funny Funny x 1
  10. Care to provide any factual evidence at all as to why slow, potentially overcrowded nodes, are better, than the likes of VPS or Dedicated servers.

11. Like 100 per (regular) server at maximum.