1.15.2 How do I cancel a player event?

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by colonialsoldier, Jan 20, 2020.

1. I'm new to programming in general. I figured out how to make a custom leave and join message but beyond that I am lost. I want to cancel players from being able to place blocks unless they have the permission node.
    How do I achieve this?

2. There is a BlockPlaceEvent that you can use. You can use Player#hasPermission(String permissionNode) to test if a player has the permission. If they don't, you can use BlockPlaceEvent#setCancelled(true) to cancel the event.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. FrostedSnowman

Resource Staff

• Like Like x 3
  4. Qhucy is prettymuch spot on, without giving you copy/paste-able code. I assume that you're learning via YouTube? (That's how I learned at least.) If so, you should continue through the series (Or however you were learning,) as it will most likely cover this later on. A good youtuber I used is {TheSourceCode}.

As FrostedSnowman said, not all events are cancellable. An example of this is InventoryClose. If you wish to 'cancel' this you have to reopen the inventory a tick (or so) later.

• Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  5. Thank you. I've been watching YouTube videos and just kind of copying their code, but I think its better for me to just test things out and use different resources such as this rather than just copy code.

6. You're right. I've been watching a lot of YouTube videos about it. I have watched the {TheSourceCode} (I'm subscribed in fact!), and also Kody Simpson. Mostly I've been copying their code, which is ok for a little bit, but I want to move a little faster and I feel like trying to do a little more advanced stuff, and I feel like figuring things out myself and using resources like this will help me better understand what I'm coding instead of just copying code.