How do I make a scheduled time event to prevent spamming potion effect when equipping armor?

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Xaziss, Feb 14, 2018 at 6:32 PM.

1. Hi sry for confusing title, would you be able to help me with a plugin I'm coding using Borlea's ArmorEquipEvent libraries? I'm just equipping diamond boots, then giving a potioneffect, then dequipping to take that potioneffect away. Everything works fine, but when you spam click the effect stays even when the boots aren't on.

I noticed someone said you could fix it with a scheduled time event to prevent the pot effect spamming, would someone be able to help me by showing me an example of schedule time event programming with this code? i'm sorry, i'm fairly new at java.
    Here is my code:

@EventHandler
    public void onDequip(ArmorEquipEvent e) {
    if(e.getOldArmorPiece() != null && e.getOldArmorPiece().getType() != Material.AIR && e.getOldArmorPiece().getType() == Material.DIAMOND_BOOTS && e.getOldArmorPiece().getItemMeta().getLore().contains("Test")) {
    e.getPlayer().removePotionEffect(PotionEffectType.SPEED);
    }
    }

@EventHandler
    public void onEquip(ArmorEquipEvent e) {
    if(e.getNewArmorPiece().getType() == Material.DIAMOND_BOOTS && e.getNewArmorPiece().getItemMeta().getLore().contains("Test")) {
    e.getPlayer().addPotionEffect(new PotionEffect(PotionEffectType.SPEED, 99999, 2));
    }
    }

How could i time it to make it so that when they spam it doesn't accidentally leave the effects, or if there is a better method?
    I looked at the wiki but i'm not sure how i would make a scheduled event for this code. thank you so much again, i'm sorry i'm fairly inexperienced so thank you for your patience :)

2. Check if they de-equip armor and then remove the effect that the armor gives. That should fix it.