How do you IP forward?

Discussion in 'Systems Administration' started by DoubleGapples, Mar 10, 2019.

1. Currently running a home hosted server, and I'm looking to open up the server so I can test it with friends, only thing is you need to ip forward, this is my first time hosting a home server, since I usually use a hosting service, but I decided to give home hosting a shot, would anyone be able to give me some information on ip forwarding, and how would you do it? Possibly guide me along the way.

2. ItsSchatten

ItsSchatten Previously _ItsShadow_

3. Tried doing that, but for some reason the settings my at8t website told me to do, weren't located there.

Will do the wikihow, and let you know if it doesn't work.

4. Update:

I already port forwarded my router (Arris router)
    I added the mc server to my firewall exclusions.
    I set the server ip to my IPv4 address.

The IP with the port works on my computer (like always), but if I enter it in another computer or my friend uses it, it doesn't work. What am I doing wrong?

5. Try to forward trough a vpn that supports port forwarding

6. What, lol? My rounter does support port forwarding?

7. Strahan

Benefactor

You should leave server.ip in the properties blank. It's only meant to be used in the case of multihomed machines where you need to force binding to one specific adapter.

Do you have another machine on your local network you can try to connect to the server with?

8. Are you using the correct ip? This may seem like a dumb question, but so many people use the wrong one that I have to ask.

There are 2 types of ip addresses that you could be using to connect: Local and External. The local ip address is the ip address of your device used within your local network. It often is formatted "192.168.x.xx". This only works on your local network. External ip addresses is the address to your router, which can be seen publicly. You can see this by visiting websites like https://www.whatsmyip.org/.