Solved How to allow a username in command, then get the UUID of username for a console command

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by minecrftbuilder, May 26, 2018.

1. Hello. I am new at coding and I am trying to make my first plugin.

I am wanting to allow players to do something like /command {username} in-game and then this would run a command through the console using the UUID of the player.

How would I put this in the "if command" line?
    How would I take that username and turn it into a UUID to use for a console command?

This is my code so far, as I said before this is all very new to me and I am not sure if it is right:
    Code (Java):
    if (command.getName().equalsIgnoreCase("command" +  (args[0]))) {

String playerName = args[0];
                // the Player object
                Player p = getServer().getPlayer(playerName);
                // UUID
                UUID uuid = p.getUniqueId();

sender.sendMessage("You ran /command!");
                Bukkit.dispatchCommand(Bukkit.getConsoleSender(), "command" + "placeholder" + uuid +
                "Text Placeholder");

return true;
            }
            return false;
            }

2. Code (Java):
    if (command.getName().equalsIgnoreCase("command" +  (args[0]))) {
    command.getName() doesnt include the args so you should just check if it equals "command"

also you should be checking the length of args to make sure there is an args[0]. along the same lines you should check if the player variable is null (it would be null if the player isnt online/no player has that name).

you get the uuid correctly though if that was your question

3. Okay thank you.

What if the command has another part to it. Such as /command run {username}
    Would I change it to:
    Code (Java):
    if (command.getName().equalsIgnoreCase("command run"))

4. no the command is still just "command". you would check if args[0] is "run"