1.12.2 How to continuously run a piece of code and listen to commands

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by CabbageRoll_, Sep 27, 2020.

1. I am still relatively new to plugin programming (and java overall) and im having this problem. I fully translated my C code into java but cannot replicate the main() function. It got this structure

Wait for user
    Initialize game
    while(!gameover){
    listen to inputs
    do a common piece of code
    wait for x time
    }

I turned listening to keyboard inputs to "/userinput input" command

I tried multiple solutions but all of them either freeze the server, or throw a null pointer exception. I believe scheduler is what i need but there is a great lack of examples on how to use it. I dont know which part of code would be useful for solving the problem so i will attach the whole plugin source if you need it

I believe spigot version doesnt matter, i chose 1.12.2 because of concrete

I didnt post code right now because i am continuously trying to change and fix it.

#1 CabbageRoll_, Sep 27, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2020
  2. P.S. Here's a general plugin tutorial, but the parts about setting up your environment and hooking into the Bukkit/Spigot API are out of date. The stuff about onEnable() and handling commands and permissions is still valid.

https://bukkit.gamepedia.com/Plugin_Tutorial

3. I am aware of how events work already (i am using playerjoin event to get the world)
    There is no mention of how to make a external function runnable (so outside of the plugin's onEnable completely or just partly, i need to delay it until player joins (later ideally, a /startgame command, but playerjoinevent can be a good start too) or its gonna continuously throw errors)
    I think you might want to see relevant code.

I know it is a little bad but i am trying to work it out
    Pluginmain is the plugin's main
    Cmain is my old program's main