How to create boundaries(regions) without WorldGuard

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by iabuse_, Sep 12, 2017.

1. Hello, I am a developer (obviously) and I am wondering how I can create boundaries with a repeating task. To test if a player is in a specific region

I don't want to use any kind of API

If you can help, it'll be greatly appreciated.

- SSync

2. Simply use the location of the player compared to the two locations on opposite ends of your area.

3. The answer to your question depends on the type of arena you want. For cuboid you can just save the world minx miny minz maxx maxy maxz. For circular you can save the world centerx centery centerz and radius.

4. Thanks for your help, I found the moderators method worked quite well. However, it'd be nice to know how to do a circular space. Could you provide an example for me?

5. Remember to leave positive reactions when someone helps you :)

6. Circular is done just like on a square, however with a radius from the center.
    You iterate over the exact same blocks and need to know the center point.
    if the distance from center > the radius then they're out of the area.

Code (Text):
    XXXOXXX
    XXOOOXX
    XOOOOOX
    OOOCOOO
    XOOOOOX
    XXOOOXX
    XXXOXXX

For reference, obviously this isn't exact
    X's are out of the area, O's are in the area
    C is the center, the radius of this area is: 3

Edit: that being said, you should really consider using worldguard you'll not write a faster or more efficient storage system for your custom regions than worldguard did. You can create/delete regions on the fly with code, quickly get their min/max points to find blocks or set them or just detect player presence.

#6 dNiym, Sep 13, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017
  7. Instead of a repeating task you could use PlayerMoveEvent