Solved How to make a command with arguments

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by TechyGaming, Feb 2, 2020.

1. Hi,
    I am kind of new to Minecraft Java coding and have only made some basic commands with a config. I was just wondering how to make a command with arguments.

Thanks.

#1 TechyGaming, Feb 2, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2021
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. Don't know why you decide to use JS instead of Java which is what Minecraft built-on but fine.

You haven't mention which library you use to write Minecraft in Javascript though.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Strahan

Benefactor

I think it's far more likely that he is using Java and just called it JavaScript for some inexplicable reason.

As to your question OP, the onCommand constructor's last argument is the arguments passed to the command. So like if you have public boolean onCommand(CommandSender sender, Command cmd, String label, String[] args) the "args" is what you want to look at.

So let's say you want to make a command /heal. Heal by itself with no args heals the player or they can pass a player to heal. Since args is a String array, it has a "length" property to see how many arguments there are. So you'd check if the length is zero, and if so heal the player. If it's >0, it means they passed an argument so you get the value (args[0]) and use that. Remember, arrays are zero based so the first argument is 0, second is 1, etc.

4. Choco

Please do some research before creating a thread. Especially for very common beginner questions such as these because they will have been answered.

Help thread: https://www.spigotmc.org/threads/command-arguments.241682/
    Bukkit tutorial thread: https://bukkit.org/threads/tutorial-command-arguments.186497/