How to make backups?

Discussion in 'Systems Administration' started by Venomous_Creeper, Jun 5, 2017.

1. Hello,

I'd like to know if there's a way to have an automatic backup system for all my dedi's files incase the server fails, or something. I need a way to backup either the whole server, or if that's impractical then the following:

» 1-2 Minecraft servers (w/ a multicraft panel, if that matters)
    » 1 Nameless MC website
    » 1 Xenforo website

I need an automated daily backup, I'm very new to this stuff so I'm not sure what steps I should take. I plan to have the backup on my dedi's 100gb storage, and maybe get a storage vps for it and back it up on both. I'd also like to know a way to backup just the configs for the plugins, I'll do it daily on my own computer but I can't really do it for all files since my internet is slow (sits at 0.8-1Mbps on a good day).

Thanks!

2. Most proper providers also have backup plans, or you can rent backup storage without needing to rent an entire machine or vps. You can use scripts to initiate the file transfers, lots of guides and examples for that.

3. I wrote basically my own script that uploads the backup to a backup storage from the hosting provider over sftp in command line and ssh keys

4. I'm using SYS so I have a free 100gb backup storage for free. I will look for one with a step by step guide :)

Is it for CentOS? do you mind sharing?

5. It's compatible with ubuntu/debian and centos and you would have to configure your backup storage and such. I'll post it whenever I have time at home since I'm going to my work soon

6. Splazeing

Supporter

I'll help you by giving my backup script. Have fun.

backup.sh
    Code (Text):
    DATE=$(date +"%F")
    cd /home/minecraft/backups
    find /home/minecraft/backups/ -type f -mtime +2 -name '*.tar.gz' -execdir rm -- {} +
    cd /home/minecraft/backups
    tar -cvf AllServers-$DATE.tar.gz /home/kees

• Optimistic Optimistic x 1