How to use the scanner

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Panerai, Jul 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I sound like a noob lol.
    Title explains it all
    before i get hate, i would like to say i am new to this

2. clip

Benefactor

• Winner Winner x 11
    • Funny Funny x 5
  3. I think he means the first one.

4. Scanner scanner = new Scanner() creates new object

---

Scanner scanner = new Scanner(System.in) allows input I guess

sysout("What's your name?")
    String inputText = scanner.nextLine(); gets answer for the person's name.

5. Damn thats some good information.

• Like Like x 1
  6. He posted on here because he wants custom help from forum members

To start off with using Java's Scanner class, you need to first create an instance of the Scanner class, because the methods aren't static. You can use any variable name really, but I'm going to use keyboard, as it makes sense in the program.

Code (Text):
    Scanner keyboard = new Scanner(System.in);
    So in the (), we put System.in, because the Scanner we're using is going to be from keyboard input. If we wanted the Scanner to be a file, it'd look something like this (using "test" as the variable):

Code (Text):
    Scanner test = new Scanner(new File("test.txt");
    In the (), instead of using System.in (keyboard input), we use new File (input from a file). So now I'll explain some common methods from Scanner that we can use in the program (note this'll be from keyboard input, not a file):

keyboard.nextLine(); — this gets a String from keyboard input

keyboard.next(); — an alias for nextLine()

keyboard.nextInt(); — this gets an integer from keyboard input

keyboard.nextBoolean(); — this gets boolean (true or false) from keyboard input

keyboard.nextDouble(); — this gets a double (decimal value usually) from user input

There are plenty more options too. If you use an IDE like Eclipse, it should give you all the options after you type keyboard. in your code.