How to write "clean" java code

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Flyin, Jan 6, 2016.

1. Hello, I have been working on some large java projects lately and have run across one problem again and again. This problem is creating "beautiful" code. I am very much of a protectionist so when I create code that I know could be better, it bothers me. Is there any information, links, wikis, etc that anyone can give that would help me produce code that is better looking and Easter to understand.

Any help would be much appreciated!
    Thanks Flyin.

2. There are alot of different styles, and saying "this is how your code should look" isn't really possible. Take a try at different styles and see which ones you feel looks the best and work the best for you.

What ever you do, however, keep it consistent.

3. Even though there is no "official" style, is there one in particular that is looked up to? I am fairly new to making large projects so I want to start off at a good point to avoid having to fix problems later on.

Thanks for the reply,
    Flyin

4. If you're interested, this video is not bad either.
    I know that it's php related but he explains some stuff regarding code indentation.

Maybe it helped you out :)

• Informative Informative x 1
  5. Thanks m8

6. You're probably not the only one who has this question... but here's some of my 'insights'
    • Programming Style Make sure it's consistent i.e. Stick to just one style, it helps reading the code later. This also means try keeping the code structure the same through out, indent appropriately and comment your code as needed.
    • Modularity Separate your functions/methods into smaller ones where possible so you can re-use them later on in the code instead of rewriting the function with a new line or two of the code. It'll show more understanding of the language and provide you with more modular, readable code.