i'm a noob with server hosting - need advices (small budget ~20USD website/domain/.. included)

Discussion in 'Hosting Advice' started by a_l_e_x_0_6, Mar 3, 2018.

1. Hello, i've never hosted anything, not even a single web page(except on localhost but that doesn't really count), i want to host a small server with ~40players, only 1server(not a bungee/hexacord/waterfall/... or subservers thingy using lot of memory). At first, i wanted to host it on Contabo, but seeing the bad reviews they got i think i'm gonna host it on kimsufi(i saw it on multiples threads as a great host for low budget). One problem: i'm a total noob.
    I don't know anything about the hardwares/... required to run my server (~40players max, only one server, but maybe memory/ressource demanding plugins)
    i'm planning on buying either dedicated server KS-2E or a vps at approximately the same price.
    1. Would it be enough to run my server properly?
    2. Is it better to use the dedicated server or the vps?
    3. Would i encounter technical(s) issue(s) using vps instead of a dedicated server?

I also want a website with forums for my server & a domain name.
    4. Is it recommended to buy a domain name from kimsufi, or is there a better(cheaper) option for example namecheap?
    5. can i host the website on the vps/dedicated server with the server on it? Or do i have to buy for a web hosting service?
    6. would it cost me extra to link the domain name to the server ip? (i want to make a subdomain for my server and keep the domain name for the server website, ie: server ip would be play.example.domain & the website example.domain)