Is Oracle Good?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by jugtej, May 19, 2017.

1. Im totally new to coding and i plan to start off with java. I know oracle has tutorials, but they look to complex. Do you think think oracle is the way to start or would you suggest something else. Do you think oracle explains everything well?

2. MiniDigger

Supporter

really depends on what kind of learner you are. if you are ok with learning by yourself, they are pretty good. if you normally take longer to understand something, it might be easier if somebody else explains it, via a more informal resource, like a youtube video. note that the quality of these videos lacks extremely. if you don't know java or any other lang yet, don't even look into spigot tutorials. those will get you started with a load of bad practices. try to grasp the language basics first (objects, variables, methods, inheritance, stuff like that).
    a programming language looks complex at first, especially if you never did anything like that before. you will need to get into the right mindset, a problem solving mindset. once you get that, java just feels like another language, like for me, german and english are.

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. WAS

WAS

Java is originally by Sun Microsystems, now acquired by Oracle. So yes, it is a good place to start, and yes it explains everything very well, I'd imagine.

Update: As Minidigger pointed out, it could depend on your style of learning. For example, a lot of people are visual these days and need videos.

4. If you dont mind asking where did you learn java from? i personally wouldnt learn through youtube cause well anyone can post stuff on it. If you have ever used oracle how much would you give it from a scale of 1-10 where 10 is highest?