Is there any replacement for FishHook.setBiteChance?

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by A_Sad_Shoe, Jun 12, 2019 at 12:57 PM.

1. so i started working on a small mmo-style plugin where i wanted to implement a fishing system, and i would really like to be able to reduce the time it takes to reel in a fish depending on the rod my player has, his fishing level etc.

but the setBiteChance method is currently deprecated and i dont see a replacement for it, i know i can implement what i want using NMS, but would rather avoid it as this is my first ever plugin, and i would prefer not having to spend 80% of my time analyzing the alphabet when i'm still learning the ropes.

if there's nothing to do i'll just have to bite the bullet and go for NMS, but in case there's a workaround it would be great.

thanks in advance.

2. As fish are now entities rather then simply appearing from thin air I guess how this happens changed a lot in 1.13. Is there as reason not to use the LURE enchantment which should do the right thing (no sure when it maxes out)?

I would *guess* the fish AI now comes into play and you would need to modify that somehow.

3. as for why i dont use LURE enchantment, from what i gathered, the LURE enchantment only takes 5 seconds per rank from the already generated value(5-45 seconds, so 5-30 seconds at max rank which is 3), i want my player to have a reduced fishing time based on the players fishing rank and the stats on the rod(custom item, for all intent and purposes i could make a wooden shovel shooting out a hook and use that, i don't want to depend on the standard rod though), and as a side note i would like to avoid the standard enchantments in most cases as that's how the rest of the plugin is being built.