Is this a waste of time and money?

Discussion in 'Server & Community Management' started by ComputerGuy365, May 23, 2017.

1. Hey spigot,

I'm looking to get back into the servers industry. I got a few hundreds to put into this, my question is, is that enough? I'm not a beginner by any means with this, I have a ton of experience with configuration/management and I have a bit of developing experience.

Worth my time? Or will it just be a waste of time and money?

2. Unless you have big plans or a unique idea, I wouldn't get into the industry. It's hard to make a successful server from what I've seen but then again, that's just my opinion. The final decision is up to you.

• Funny Funny x 1
  3. As I said, I'm no beginner. I know where to buy everything and how to manage it. Also, I've been told by top server owners that it's not worth your time to do anything custom without a huge youtuber backing it.

4. No money, apart from the hosting expenses, is required to succeed.

Trust me.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. Then how are you supposed to advertise? Don't tell me you go on planetminecraft and minecraftforum.net..

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. Ironic.
    That's exactly what I do.
    I've built a decent sized community just after 2 months of launching, website with 250+ users, Discord with ~150 users, Twitter with 103 followers (while I follow 2 people). It's all about how you engage with the players - they will just come. In May, I got around 3K new visits and the player base in weekdays ranges anywhere from 5 to 25 depending on the part of the day, however on weekends, it gets as high as 50-70.

While I pay for plugins and make some myself, (which we don't talk about here, we're on about ads), I haven't spent a cent for advertisements.

I've got a graph to back up what I'm saying.

upload_2017-5-23_18-34-43.png