Solved Issue with muting the global chat

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by theblackquake, May 24, 2016.

1. I'm new to java at this moment, but recently I ran over an issue, the issue is whenever I try muting the global chat it doesn't do that. From my current knowledge in java I believe this code should work:
    http://hastebin.com/vecuherali.java
    The main issue is that there are no con sold errors and all the messages send through except the one on cancel event, and I made sure I don't have any perms when I chat. Thanks.

2. You are missing an annotation and didn't register your event:
    Code (Text):
    public void onEnable() {
      getServer().getPluginManager().registerEvents(this, this);
    }

@EventHandler
    public void myMethod(ThisIsAnExampleEvent e) {
      // ...
    }
    Also you have to implement Listener not listener (capital L).
    And there's a return true in your last line which seems to be a bit out of place. I think it should be inside the onCommand method.

This is a minor thing: Java code usually looks like this:
    Code (Text):
    public void methodWithBrackets() {
      // ..
    }
    And not like in C/C++:
    Code (Text):
    public void this_is_more_c_like()
    {
      // ..
    }

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. You event handler isn't annotated and you never register your events. Check out http://wiki.bukkit.org/Event_API_Reference#The_Basics

Also I would recommend annotating your onCommand with @Override just as good practice to make sure you are actually overriding something (you didn't make a typo, extend the wrong class etc) as well as making it clear to other developers reading your code.

• Informative Informative x 1
  4. first line, Listener not listener (case sensitive) and what the others said

• Useful Useful x 1
  5. You sir, use a very interesting naming convention. Other than that, others already solved your issue. Mark this as solved?

6. Thanks, it is now working with no issues.