java for noobs

Discussion in 'Programming' started by jugtej, Jun 10, 2017.

1. i started learning java from oracles tutorials. i dont have any previous knowledge of programming and wanted to jump straight to java. im having issues learning from oracle as it is very advanced and it doesnt explain everything at the moment they tell you something. i was wondering if you could link me to an extensive java tutorial for total newbies that explains everything. oracle just confuses me. thanks

2. Mas

Mas

If you don't have any previous programming knowledge, a good way to learn might be through a book (depending on how you learn best). Programming books tend to go into good depths and cover the absolute basics. I've heard good things about the Head First Java books, although I haven't personally used them.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Whats important is to understand concepts and theory first. You can't jump into deep water before learning how to tread. Start small, read up on programming books, watch tutorials and learn the basics. Once you begin to understand more, you can expand your horizons. All the best in your studies.

• Like Like x 1
  4. I would highly suggest looking at sites like home and learn. Since Java is your first programming language you have to learn a lot of concepts so the Oracle documentation would definitely confuse you.

5. right now what i started doing is to learn java from code academy. it has neutral reviews but it doesnt go too in depth so after that ill start oracle. have you heard about how code academy is or used it before? if so i would love to get your opinion on what im doing

6. I've heard about code academy but I've honestly never used it. I've used teamtreehouse before but that's not free (not sure how alike them websites are).

• Like Like x 1