Solved Listener Class not working properly

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by ShadowMasterG23, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Hey guys, I'm making a CustomJoin plugin, but I'm having trouble trying getting my code to work properly. My problem lies in the plugins' Listener Class. As you could probably tell, I'm new to Java, so I apologize in advance to those who cringe at my code. However, I'm not a complete newbie. I've developed a plugin that's on Spigot if you want to get a better look at how I code: https://www.spigotmc.org/resources/hugs.39722/

Anyways, I've tried multiple methods from other forum posts and Google searches, but nothing is meeting my requirements. I've left other bits of code that I have tried and they came close to what I wanted, but they weren't quite there. I feel like there is an easier way to do this, but at the same time, it's not so simple. Here's what I have.

Code (Text):

@EventHandler
        public void onPlayerJoin(PlayerJoinEvent e) {

Player player = e.getPlayer();

if (player.hasPermission("customjoin.join")) {
              //Ended up making a message like this "[ , <join_message> , ]"
                //String mts = configGetter.getConfig().getString("join_message").replace("%name%", player.getName());
                //Bukkit.broadcastMessage(ChatColor.translateAlternateColorCodes('&', mts));

//Had the results I was looking for but fell short because it lacked color codes.
                //configGetter.getConfig().getStringList("join_message").forEach(string -> Bukkit.broadcastMessage(string.replace("%name%", player.getName())));

//Ended up making a message like this "[ , <join_message> , ]"
                //String mts = configGetter.getConfig().getStringList("join_message").toString().replaceAll("%name%", player.getName());

//Only produces the first line of the join_message (w/ color codes)
                String mts2 = configGetter.getConfig().getStringList("join_message").iterator().next();