Looking for a good and affordable vpn/hybrid/dedicated

Discussion in 'Hosting Advice' started by Daanisaanwezig, Nov 23, 2019.

1. Hi guys, so I have a couple of questions regarding getting a server.

Let's start with the use case, I'm studying application and media development (basically just learning how to develop apps and websites), for that study I need a server to test applications on, so that's 1. I would also like to host a few websites on it (these will be small to medium websites). And finally I would also like to host a minecraft server on it to play on with a couple of friends.
    So what I want to host on it:
    - applications I need to test (for my study)
    - a few small to medium websites
    - a minecraft server for a couple of friends

So now we got that out of the way, I would like to know what would be best for me to pick. A dedicated server, a hybrid server or a VPN and also what host. The host should be European and preferably located near the Netherlands. My budget is ~25 euro's a month, I'm fine with paying a bit more if the price performance is really good.

Please do not just give me the name of the host but also tell me why you think I should go for that host and what your or your friends experiences are with that host.

2. Hi. I can recommend you trying to use Google Cloud Platform: cloud.google.com
    It will be a short-term solution (for a month or so) before you find a proper hosting provider.
    They will give your 270 euros (for free) that you can use for creating and maintaining VMs for the purposes you have listed.
    They have a data center in Netherlands with a "compute-optimized" machine family that can easily handle 20 players on a Minecraft server. Not to mention being capable of handling web sites or being used for educational purposes.

3. Well I'm looking for a long term solution here. I don't need it right now, so I do have some time to look around and compare different providers.