Many weird problems with my config

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by alessio2010, May 15, 2017.

1. Hello! I just started learning about configs and i'm having problems getting a message from my config and saving all of the comments in my config. I'm trying to make it get the string helpermessage but it's not getting it..

Here is my code
    https://hastebin.com/afuroguxuh.java
    And there is an error in the console
    https://hastebin.com/uxecalivac.vbs

How to fix

2. Just to make this clear,

The following classes aren't required for what you do, can be simplified with the spigot methods

Code (Text):

FileConfiguration config;
           File cfile;

Obviosly your error is a nullpointerexception that means somewhere is a not existing file.
    Have you checked your config file ? Does it exist ?

3. I don't see how it's not existent..

4. https://www.spigotmc.org/wiki/config-files/ Go read that, it will help clear up your confusion. Your basically using default config stuff along side non-standard config stuff which might work eventually but its like having a flat tire and flattening the other 3 so the car sits level :confused:

• Winner Winner x 1
  5. Code (Text):
    Plugin plugin = this;
    Configuration config = plugin.getConfig();

void initConfig() {
            if (!getDataFolder().exists()) {
                getDataFolder().mkdirs();
            }
            File file = new File(getDataFolder(), "config.yml");
            if (!file.exists())
                plugin.saveDefaultConfig();
            config = plugin.getConfig();
        }

@Override
        public void onEnable() {
            initConfig();
            }

Now once you have this you can access the configuration thru the variable config.

String msg;
    msg = config.getString("helpermessage");

Now do whatever you need to do to display msg to the player.

• Winner Winner x 1