Solved Mass change blocks

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by KingFaris10, Jun 27, 2016.

1. Hi, I'm making a mini-game plugin and it sets the floor (64x64 blocks) to air, then after 5 seconds, it re-generates the floor as wool blocks (with different colours). My code works, but it's *VERY* laggy and nearly crashes the server (it does freeze the server). Is there a way I can do mass block updates with minimal lag? Currently I use block.setType() and block.setData(). I tried sendPacketChange or something, but that crashes the client.

#1 KingFaris10, Jun 27, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2016
  2. Fairly sure this is because there is a lot of actions being called all at once on the same thread. I'm not experienced enough with performing actions on async threads to give you advice there. What you could try to do is, instead of trying to update all those blocks on the same server tick, setup a repeating task and update a small section of those blocks over many server ticks. It will take more game ticks to complete, but it should take less time in real life because the server won't hangup or freeze from being overloaded.

3. @Hunky524 probably has one of the best solutions, add all the blocks you want to change to a list, and every tick change x at a time.

• Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  4. I guess you could time every block place or divide the mass block placing.

5. Thing is, the game works by having a floor, and most blocks disappear leaving only around 16-64 blocks left. After 5 seconds, all of these blocks are re-generated. Any players who fell through the floor (due to the blocks disappearing) lose, any players still on the left over blocks now are on the next round which causes the blocks to disappear again. If I did it on a scheduler, some blocks will show up and some blocks won't (for the players who are still alive). I think this is the best solution that I've found but it still doesn't meet my needs, thanks.

#5 KingFaris10, Jun 27, 2016