MC 1.13 - Server side modding - new blocks?

Discussion in 'Spigot Discussion' started by sirati97, Feb 20, 2018.

What do you think?

1. I am interested in helping

2. I am interested in using this later

3. I think no one ever wants to add new blocks or items

1. Hello,
    I am looking forward to the technical update part of Minecraft 1.13. In the past, I have often worked in the NMS environment and thus know very well how the internals of a Minecraft server work. I cannot promise anything yet, but I believe it might be possible to introduce new blocks and items server-side without requiring a modded client. This heavily depends on how it is implemented and which consistency checks the client makes. It is definitely possible. The question just is how efficiently can it be done and is it efficient enough to deliver the same experience as server-software not offering this feature. This is what I like to explore and hopefully also implement. However, I am a uni student and time is spare, and I cannot really do it alone or without people motivating the heck out of me.

This may be a bit blunt, but I want to avoid some negative answers to this thread (for my sanity). I have put a massive amount of thought into this over the past four years and if you come up with a possible issue I probably already have sorted it out. So please check the following list and if this even remotely covers what you are about to say really think if its wise to say it. Actual content continues afterwards.
    Sadly I had to deal with all those points before when discussing with people about this on discord or here on the IRC. And I just cannot deal with this negative and ignorant attitude
    All packets reaching the client will only contain NBT that the client is able to process.
    Yes obviously. This is a server-side mod.