1.15.2 MongoDB - Check if value exists in a field.

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Foreignlos, Jan 17, 2020.

1. Hey everyone, In the last few days I've been struggeling about how to solve this:
    Here's one document from a MongoDB database:
    Code (Text):

Name: Example
    Owner: John
    Players:
         1: Jason
         2: Rob
         3: Carey

How would I go about checking if let's say the value "Rob" is in the Players field?
    I have his name, But I don't know if he exists in the database or not, How can I check if he is in a Players field?
    Also, let's say it did found him in the database, Can I get let's say the Owner only by knowing Rob's value?
    Might sound simple but I'm really new to MongoDB and I can't seem to find many documentations/tutorials online with Java.

2. I've already seen this documentation but I can't understand it, Ok I understand this function finds the value, but how do I check if it found it? when I try to make an if statement it'd say it's a FindIterable type and not Boolean, so this FindIterable thing doesn't really help me. because I want to check if it found it.

3. Well I already know Count() is deprecated because I researched before, and countDocuments() is not what I'm looking for, this only counts how many documents there are with this information, I want to get another piece of information by a known piece of information.
    As I've stated in my question - I couldn't find any proper documentations for this, so this is the reason I've asked here.
    And trust me - I've done more research than I thought I should, and the closest thing I've found was a post from like 6 years ago that is very hard to understand/probably is not what I need.

4. My apologies didn't notice you had a two part question. Could you post the link to the post you found?