1.8.8 My general questions which I have never done before.

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Wilsoon, Feb 9, 2020.

1. This is going to be kind of intermediate stuff, but
    1. How do I create an explosion using Java? (And set the explosion power and whether blocks are broken during this explosion)
    2. How do I create some kind of launching effect on a player using Java? (They fly up to the sky and something happens to them.)

2. World#createExplosion
    Set the player's velocity with Entity#setVelocity

3. Hmm thanks, but am I being an idiot:
    upload_2020-2-9_17-14-6.png
    I can't seem to get the World#createExplosion.
    I'm doing this code on a different package than my main class btw.

4. That's because you are directly accessing the "World" class, which would only show static methods, it would be targetworld.createExplosion(..) in your case.

• Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  5. Oops..

6. I'm trying to explode the player:
    upload_2020-2-9_18-17-17.png
    But it only allows Location, float, boolean no matter what I choose.

I wanted this:
    upload_2020-2-9_18-17-47.png

However even if I pick that one inside my IDE it wants me to reduce it down to the one above ^^

7. Is this the javadoc for your version?
    Probably 1.8.x didn't have that.

Pass a second boolean.

8. Nope, don't really know how to go to the 1.8 Javadocs.

Don't really understand what this means, all I want is to stop blocks from exploding when this command is ran to explode.

9. I misread the screenshot. Remove the second boolean parameter. 1.8.x has no option to pass a flag for "do not destroy blocks" I guess.
    Just upgrade to 1.15.2

• Agree Agree x 1
  10. I think Ima try to circumvent the explosion to blocks by teleporting the player to a location.
    However, I don't know how to make a location for teleportation when I only have the separate X Y and Z. Javadocs doesn't seem to teach me on how to do this.. or maybe it does and I'm just blind.