1.8.8 Need help with countdown! 3... 2... 1... START!

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Alcachofra, Apr 4, 2020.

1. Hello, fellow coders.

I'm very new to this whole Minecraft plugin dev, even to java itself, but I hope I can get some help.

So here's what I'm trying to do in the onCommand() method in my Main class:

if (label.equalsIgnoreCase("start")) {
    // INSERT TIMER HERE
    myMethod();
    }

My plan was: A player types "/start" and the plugin waits 5 seconds before executing method "myMethod()".

The problem is: I want it to send a message in the chat for every second passed.
    So the output would be something like:

Starting in 5...
    Starting in 4...
    Starting in 3...
    Starting in 2...
    Starting in 1...
    *execute myMethod here*

Thanks in advance!

2. I would take a look at this: https://hub.spigotmc.org/javadocs/spigot/org/bukkit/scheduler/BukkitScheduler.html

I'd recommend using this alongside a HashMap (https://docs.oracle.com/javase/8/docs/api/java/util/HashMap.html)
    You can use the hashmap to save the id of the scheduled task as the key and the seconds until the method should be run as the value.
    Code (Java):
    Map<Integer, Integer> countdowns = new HashMap<>();
    Then once the value gets to 0 in the scheduler, you can remove the key from the HashMap and cancel the repeating task and run the method you want to run.

3. Thanks for the fast input, guys! Although i already got it to work. I did a little research and found out about the Thread.sleep() method. I just threw it inside a loop, and it turned out pretty good! I come from C, so i don't really know about these available methods.

I'll check your links out, anyways!

4. Don't `Thread.sleep()` - this will cause issues down the line. You should use the BukkitScheduler.

5. As a good rule of thumb, you never want to use Thread.sleep() when it comes to Minecraft plugins. This will likely halt most of the other processes happening on the server.