New server help

Discussion in 'Hosting Advice' started by itsAldri, Jul 27, 2018.

1. Hello everyone!
    I'm new to this whole forum thing and to this site. My friends and I thought about starting a mc server seemed simple at first I was just going to run it from home but after reading some other posts I feel like I'm doing everything wrong lol...does anyone have some starter tips of must do's that I need to look at and do in order to start one up!?

2. Hey!
    Starting a server at home is much more complicated than a paid host, but i'll try to help you out.
    Here's the official guide, but if that's not your thing i'll also write you a step-by-step as well.
    I'm assuming you use windows, if not i'm extremely sorry.
    First, create a folder for your server, you can name it anything and place it anywhere. Inside the folder you must put in the spigot server .jar for whatever version you'd like. To get the jar, you can follow the steps from BuildTools here.
    Once you have the downloaded file, right click it and rename the jar file to "spigot".
    Once you have the jar, put it in the folder you earlier created. Next we have to create a script to run the .jar, because double clicking on the jar simply won't work. To do this, right click in the same folder, scroll down to "New" and select "Text Document". The name doesn't matter for now, so choose anything.
    Once you have selected the name, double click the file to open it in Notepad, and paste this code into the document:
    Code (Text):
    @echo off
    java -Xms1G -Xmx1G -XX:+UseConcMarkSweepGC -jar spigot.jar
    pause
    The -Xms1G and -Xmx1G in the code is the amount of memory you want to dedicate to your server. 1G (gigabyte) is a decent amount for a little server just for friends, but feel free to change it in the code if you'd like.