New server

Discussion in 'Server & Community Management' started by HeXeRiS, Jun 20, 2019.

1. Hey everyone, basically I was thinking of creating my Minecraft server. The only problem is that I'm quite new to server owning, so I don't know too much about it. Is was thinking of making factions/skyblock server, but these two game modes are really overused. I want you to answer these questions :D : 1.Should I stick to my server idea, or think of a new one? 2. Tips for server owning? 3. How to make my server to stand out from the rest? The only reason I'm asking these questions, is that a lot of servers seem to get average from 50 to 100 people on they server daily, even though they have skyblock or factions minigames. My goal is not to get hundreds players, but to make them entertained by playing my server minigames. I hope you will answer my questions :D

2. If your goal is to get hundreds of players on at once... you'll need some decent hardware in the future. First you should start small. If you're making a skyblock or factions, add something unique or your player retention will be really low. Since you never owned a server before, your more than likely won't be able to create a successful server on your first try unless you pay for someone more experienced to set up your server. And how to make your server stand out, well, that is something you will have to think of all by yourself.
    Best of luck

3. Thanks for the answer :) . No, my goal is not to get a lot of players, so does that mean I don't need that good hardware?

4. If you want to go 'balls to the wall' right away, you could buy a dedicated server, yes. At least, you should get a premium host with good shared hardware.

5. Welp, I just bought a pretty cheap 2gb server, and if I'll need more, I'll upgrade it, but for now, I think it'll do.

6. GaIaxy

Supporter