New to Hosting

Discussion in 'Server & Community Management' started by EncryptedCurse, Mar 8, 2013.

1. After jumping around from host to host, I am now currently on a 4GB shared hosting plan with TheMinecraftHost, where I only have access to FTP and a basic Multicraft panel. I've been looking for some time now to switch to a dedicated server on OVH, mainly due to the really cheap prices and more freedom on what I can do with my server.

But then again, I've never actually used a VPS nor had a dedicated server before. Since I haven't had any experience besides Minecraft-only hosts, I feel like I may run into a ton of problems/troubles, where I can't just send in a simple support ticket and have the issue looked into for me -- I'd be on my own. If I want my server to expand, I can't keep them on hosts where I don't have full control over it.

- What Linux distro should I use?
    Keep in mind, I'm very new to this. I was thinking of getting Ubuntu 12.04 + remote desktop, so I can visually see what I'm doing. I won't be going with Windows, as I don't want to be paying extra monthly for the OS license.

- Are there any newbie guides to setting up a server?

- Should I use a RAMDisk?
    Since the plan does not offer SSDs, I thought of putting my Factions survival + creative worlds on a RAMDisk, as they are the most popular.

2. PhanaticD

Patron

dont use a ramdisk

learn how to use the command line and a commandline text editor like vim

I prefer centos over ubuntu

• Like Like x 1
  3. LiLChris

LiLChris Retired Moderator
    Retired

• Like Like x 1
  4. prplz

Supporter

I agree with centos and vim :)