New To Java - Want to start a big project, how to start?

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by stormyjoeYes, Sep 5, 2019.

1. Hello! I for a little knowledge about myself i have been tweaking with java, Unity, and swift coding over the last 2-3 years but none of the knowledge retained. However i am very commonly used to plugin configs as i am a admin on a server and i run a server of my own.

I want to make a plugin or two and start devloping plugins that are usefull toward both the community and myself on my own server that would add a class base and race base system with a custom skill GUI thing.
    I like going head first into big projects, its just how i have been able to learn a lot easy for me to learn.

I was looking into other plugins that do similar things however they are outdated or the devs are very very very slow in response in which i think this is something mine craft owners need or some anyway.

Any ideas on how to start and any ways to make a gui thing possible. Or videos, tutorials or blogs?

(1.14.4 version) Thanks to anyone that responds! I want to learn and learn anything i can!

2. I know you said you like going head first into big projects but realistically this isn't going to be the best way to learn... Learn to walk before you can run.

If you're dead set on starting with this big project, break the project up into smaller goals, each with their own clear objective. Then do your research on how you can achieve that task using the bukkit API Documentation and forum posts here before you start writing your code.

Every big project must be well planned and have realistic goals set, or you're going to end up getting stuck, loosing interest or using bad coding practices to patch things together.

TL;DR - Start with small projects, gain knowledge of bukkit api, plan big project well.

• Agree Agree x 3