Solved \newline adding spaces instead of a newline for custom item

Discussion in 'Spigot Plugin Development' started by Upgradingmaster, Feb 21, 2020.

1. Hello!
    I'm a beginner to spigot plugin development but have basic knowledge in Java.

I was watching a tutorial for creating custom items. He just showed the basics. I wanted to make a gold sword with a description as shown in the picture(Picture 1). When I entered the string for the description and exported it, it showed me (Picture 2). The \n hadn't worked and had not gone to the next line and simply added spaces after it (the number of spaces applied are based on the number of \n's I add for some reason). I've tried switching the \n to \r, %r, and %n and it remains the same.
    PS: Sorry for the long description in the code :/

Midas OG.jpg

2020-02-21_22.37.48.png

Code (Java):
    package com.upm.firstPlugin;

import java.util.ArrayList;

import org.bukkit.ChatColor;
    import org.bukkit.Material;
    import org.bukkit.inventory.ItemFlag;
    import org.bukkit.inventory.ItemStack;
    import org.bukkit.inventory.meta.ItemMeta;

public class ItemEditor {

String midasDesc1 = ("Damage: " + ChatColor.RED + "+152\n" + ChatColor.RESET + "Strength: " + ChatColor.RED + "+2\n\n" + ChatColor.GOLD + "Item Ability: Greed\n" + ChatColor.RESET + "The strength and damage bonus of this item is dependant on the price paid for it at the " + ChatColor.DARK_PURPLE + "Dark Auction!\n" + ChatColor.RESET + "The maximum bonus of this item is " + ChatColor.RED + "120" + ChatColor.RESET + "if the bid was " + ChatColor.GOLD + "50,000,000 " + ChatColor.RESET + "or higher!\n\n" + "Price Paid: " + ChatColor.GOLD + "100,000 Coins\n" + ChatColor.RESET + "Strength Bonus: " + ChatColor.RED + "2\n" + ChatColor.RESET + "Damage Bonus: " + ChatColor.RED + "2\n\n" + ChatColor.GOLD + "" + ChatColor.BOLD + "LEGENDARY");
       //ERROR HERE ^^^^^^

public ItemStack makeItem(Material m, String name, String desc, int amount) {